Tag Archives: David Byrne

David Byrne Brings American Utopia Tour to Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles – Saturday, August 25

David Byrne announced the addition of Shrine Auditorium to the list of stops on his extensive world tour in support of his forthcoming solo record, American Utopia, on Saturday, August 25 at 8:00 PM. Ibeyi will support the show. David will perform songs from the new album, which is out March 9 via Todomundo/Nonesuch Records, as well as classics from his solo career and his days with Talking Heads. A twelve-piece band will also join David on stage for a choreographed concert that he has called “the most ambitious show I’ve done since the shows that were filmed for Stop Making Sense.” Tickets go on sale Friday, February 9 at 10:00 AM via AXS.com.

Shrine Auditorium

David Byrne: American Utopia Tour with special guest Ibeyi

ON SALE DATE Friday, February 9 at 10:00 AM

SHOW DATE Saturday, August 25 at 8:00 PM

TICKET PRICES $39.50 / $49.50 / $74.50 / $109.50 / $$124.50 / $135.00 / $149.50

Also Performing at Shrine Auditorium & Expo Hall:

02/10 – 88rising at Shrine Expo Hall
02/13 – Erykah Badu with special guest Thundercat at Shrine Expo Hall
02/17 – YG and Friends at Shrine Expo Hall
02/24 – G-Eazy at Shrine Expo Hall
03/09 – Steve Aoki with special guest Desiigner at Shrine Expo Hall
03/23 – The Piano Guys at Shrine Auditorium
08/10 – Portugal. The Man with special guest Cuco at Shrine Auditorium

2018 Upcoming Releases To Look Forward To

2018 has already had a strong start with new releases from the likes of Jeff Rosenstock, They Might Be Giants, tUnE-yArDs, No Age, Belle & Sebastian, Ty Segall, Tiny Moving Parts, and so many more. Here’s a list of some upcoming releases to look forward to this year that I am particularly excited about, with links to new singles.


Car Seat Headrest
Twin Fantasy
Feb. 16 (Matador)

While actually a re-recording of Car Seat Headrest’s  2011 self-released record of the same name, it will be exciting to hear the tracks polished up for an established independent label release. Fans have already fallen in love with Will Toledo’s dreamy deep vocals and relatable lyrics — let’s see how a fresh 2018 perspective strengthens and adapts to the material. Single: “Nervous Young Inhumans.”

Room Inside The World
Feb. 16 (Merge)

Montreal’s Ought produced one of the best albums of 2014 with their debut record More Than Any Other Day, followed shortly by an equally impressive release in 2015 with Sun Coming Down. The new record hopefully promises greater depth and maturity from the anxiety-driven, post-punk influenced band. Single: “Disgraced in America.”

What a Time to Be Alive
Feb. 16 (Merge)

This will be Superchunk’s third full length since their post-Here’s to Shutting Up (2001) album recording hiatus, following up Majesty Shredding (2010) and I Hate Music (2013). These are indie rock veterans born from the legendary Chapel Hill, North Carolina music scene that flourished in the 90’s. Over the decades, Superchunk have proved that they are still masters of soaring and satisfying, emotional indie rock melodies. Single: “Erasure.”


Titus Andronicus
A Productive Cough
Mar. 2 (Merge)

Patrick Stickles, the driving force behind Titus Andronicus promises more ballad style songs with this new release. Glimpses of Stickles’ interest in the style have been seen in tracks like “No Future Part III: Escape from No Future” from The Monitor (2010) and “No Future Part V: In Endless Dreaming” from the project’s rock-opera The Most Lamentable Tragedy (2015) which chronicles Stickles’ struggles with Bipolar Disorder. It will be interesting to see how his honest and autobiographic, Bruce Springsteen-inspired brand of punk translates into slowed-down songs in this new album. Single: “Number One (In New York).”


David Byrne
American Utopia
Mar. 9 (Nonesuch Records)

David Byrne’s first solo record in 14 years — what’s not to be excited about, really? The record was co-produced with Byrne’s enigmatic buddy Brian Eno, with the record’s lead single also co-written by Eno. Single: “Everybody’s Coming to My House.”

Watch the music video for Byrne’s single here:


Hot Snakes
Jericho Sirens
Mar. 16 (Sub Pop)

Newly signed to Sub Pop, the long-time San Diego punk band just released a brand new single from their upcoming LP, Jericho Sirens. Sub Pop has also taken it upon themselves to re-release/repress Hot Snakes’ full back catalog in a reissue series. Totally sweet. Single: “Six Wave Hold Down.”

Dates/Titles TBA


The Danish post-punk revivalists have been away from the studio for a few years. Four years to be exact. Planning on a European/UK tour this May, it’s been said that the band is expected to announce their 4th studio album sometime this year.

My Bloody Valentine

In an interview with Pitchfork, MBV frontman, Kevin Shields said that the band will “100 percent” release a new album in 2018. Pitchfork quotes Shields, “Basically, the record started off as an EP, and I realized it has to be, like, a mini-album, because it’s going to be at least 40 minutes long. So it’s going to be an album, but I don’t really know how many tracks it’s going to be. It’ll probably be seven or eight, by the looks of it.”

Parquet Courts

Parquet Courts are another sweet indie postpunk-edged band that has been making promising waves in the music sphere over the last few years. Spin reported that we can expect a new “raw” LP from the band May 2018.

Hopeful Mentions: We need some more music from female artists, 2018! Sleater-Kinney, Courtney Barnett, Frankie Cosmos, Niki Minaj and Jenny Lewis are just some artists rumored to have new record releases this year.